The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter presented to a friend by a homeowner is clearly promoting the friend to approach Admas Realty by stating that Adams Realty is more capable than Fitch Realty in selling of the house at higher prices and swiftly. In the very first appearance it seems to be valid to agree with the homeowner to approach Adams Realty for selling of the home. The facts presented like the number of state agents associated with Adams Realty is more than that associated with Fitch Realty and moreover the average price the house was greater as compared to tht with Filch realty.

The claim states the availability of lesser number of state agents being associated with the Adams Realty is affecting not selling off the proerty quickly. Can we blatantly posit that it is a responsible factor? According to me, it is mandatory to analyse the distribution of the number of state agents working in the area. If the numbe rof state agents are particularly concentrated in specific areas then it might be difficult to sell off the property quickly and if not then it can not be proved responsible for the delay.

The homeowner compares both the real estate firms on behalf of his personal experience too where he clearly justifies his support to Adams Realty by stating Adams Realty was able to sell off the property in a month whereas Filch Realty took a time period of four months to sell off another property. It is not justified to compare the time period required by the each firm to sell off different properties and moreover in a gap of nine years. It is necessary to know what is the location of the property, its condition and also the economic aspect of the country at the time when homeowner listed the property with Filch. There are times when buyers of the property decline due to inflation or economic stress, it is important to answer, was the property being sold during such stress conditions. What were the conditions of the property, were those desirable and what was the location, as some locations are definitely preferred by the buyers. It is also important to analyse the number of state agents that were associated with Filch Realty,ten years back.

The claim presented by the homeowner, the Adam Realty generated the twice as the revenue generated by Filch, requires more analysis, a year back. It is necessary to know whether the data presented is authentic or not. There might be a case that the data's presented by either of the firm is not correct, may be Filch Realty is trying to hide the money from paperwork, keeping it black or may be Adam Realty is hiking the income, in the light of promotion. This aspect should be analysed more before drawing any conclusion.

It is necessary to check all the conditions and even the authenticity of the data presented. The answers to the arguments presented can be helpful in selecting the firm, capable of selling off the property, desired by a person. It is necessary to know the status of the working of the firm in the area where property need to be sell off.