Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

It is often said that actions speak louder than words. Humans are intelligent creatures who often get what they want by speaking things and influencing the people from whom they want something. It is thus often very difficult to find the true intention of people just through their words, Actions, on the other hand, display the true character and intention of a person. Through similar arguments, it can be said that scandals are more useful to focus our attention on problems that no speaker ever could. I strongly agree with the given statement.

Scandals often bring out deep rooted problems in our society and connect to the general population than a speaker ever could. They are also not biased in favoring one side, humans on the other hand often have hidden agendas. Even if in some situations they might not, some kind of hidden prospect can always be linked to them which might bring their credibility into question. As an example, recently a highly meritorious student from IIT Madras, a very prestigious institution in India committed suicide. The reason that initially came out was that the student was able to secure the top spot in every subject barring one. This seems like a very trivial reason to end one's life. subsequently, the student's suicide letter came to light in which she accused the professor of the subject which she was not able to top, off bigotry and islamophobia. It came to light that the professor used to harass the girl child because she was a muslim. the case brought about a huge public uproar followed by the termination of the professor. There had been complaints about the said professor multiple times before, but unfortunately, they landed on deaf ears. It cost the life of a bright student to bring a deep rooted social issue to public light.

On another note, in the US. there have been talks of data theft and privacy for years now. There were no tight regulations concerning the privacy of public data which could be exploited by large companies and governmental agencies. It was only after the whistleblower from the NSA disclosed documentation that the government was spying on its people that it caught public attention. Recently in a huge data scandal, Facebook was prosecuted by congress for leaking public data, after which tight laws were implemented concerning the use and sale of public data.

There are countless other instances where huge scandals served to bring people together and pushed the reforms for better policies, one can look at high profile rape cases in the last decade in India, You don't even have to look that far. In a recent rape case, the victim- a doctor, while traveling home had some issues with her two wheeler. Two men approached to help her. The men abducted her and raped her under a nearby deserted bridge, the men also burnt her victim alive after the rape. The parents of the victim tried to file a police complain, but the police kept hassling them on whose jurisdiction the crime was committed. Scandals like these bring to light the deep rooted problems to public light. The rape and murder as bad as it was, brought to light the inefficiency and lack of empathy of the legal system. The general people were able to relate to the case which is why it generated a huge uproar. Speakers or reformers might be able to persuade some small sections of the society together who in some way have been burdened by the problem, but they will often fail to gain the interest of general people. Scandals like these could happen to anyone and thus can better unify the people against certain societal problems.