Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

I do not think it is the responsibility of educational institutions to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. Educational institutions have a duty to inform students about the different fields but dissuading them based on their own biases is unjust.

Let's take an example of India for this issue, being a poor country with an enormous population, the services industries do not pay well at all. After the internet boom, the software/engineering fields grew enormously throughout the world, jobs in India grew as well. These jobs were among the best paying in the country and hired only from the top most institutes. As a result, the parents and society in general, grew obsessed with top institutes, IITs to name one. Due to this obsession, the children are dissuaded in most cases to follow their dreams and rather forced in many other cases to follow this IIT dream. They are forced by parents to join coaching institutes at a tender age, they are dissuaded to follow sports and any other thing that might act as a "distraction". In many cases, they leave their home towns to join these coaching classes, follow strict study schedules and go through enormous amounts of stress and expectations. Many who can't keep up, turn to suicides and drugs to cope with the stress. Even the ones who do succeed in their parent's dreams of attending IITs are often not interested in engineering in the first place, and consequently, they end up being average engineers. This is precisely due to lack of passion, unless you have a passion for something you cannot get good at it beyond a certain point. Not to mention the physical incapabilities that develop due to this high-stress environment.

The students I mentioned were talented kids who would have succeeded in whichever fields they liked. Instead, they were forced to follow a certain path determined by not them but the society. Our society in general, follows a herd mentality, and is biased due to their experiences. The educational institutes have a responsibility to inform the child of all the fields they could pursue, the pros and cons of each. But it should be the child's decision since they are the ones that have to live with it.

No major breakthrough has been made in physics in the last several decades, does that mean we should dissuade our children to pursue physics? would we want another einstien to become a software engineer and develop some random phone applications?

Moreover, Students in the US have known to be struggling with college debt. There is an inherent belief that if you want a good job, you must have a college degree. Authorities recognized a way to capitalize this belief and college education became more and more expensive, to the point where students are not able to pay back their debts for several years after graduating. The situation currently is that there is a shortage of people in the services industry. Due to this shortage plumbers, housekeepers, electricians are getting paid more, they have no students debts and they can plan their lives better than the college educated kid with loads of debt. Thus dissuading some fields and pushing the other will only create an imbalance and would make the student's lives harder in the longer term.