To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

I do not agree with the given statement, every society has a major chunk of its population living in rural areas. To understand a society we must give them adequate importance.

All the developing countries are heavily dependent on agriculture and industries which are often based in tier2 or tier 3 cities, for example, agriculture is a major driver of the GDP for India and neighboring countries. Around 60% of the population in India is comprised of farmers, and it has been so for the past thousands of years. The culture and the traditions we have has very close ties with this background. Many festivals we celebrate like thanksgiving in the north Americas or Onam in southern India are celebrated to mark the end of the harvest season. The clothing we wear has evolved over centuries to be most comfortable for the local climate and often depicts the traditional values. On the other hand, major cities have immigrants moving in from all different kinds of places. For example, New York has a huge number of Indian, Chinese and European populations. These small groups of people embrace the new cultures but to an extent also preserve their own. As a result over time, the general outsider looking into new york would find a whole range of different practices and traditions which are not representative of rural American traditions at all.

Moving on from cultural issues, Education is a major characteristic of a society. The quality of education one receives in a major city is often better than the rural areas, largely due to the unavailability of good teachers and the capital the local people are willing to invest in their child. Also, the kind of skills they are looking for are different, it is rarer to find a farmer's son that is interested in computer science than it if for the son of a software engineer in a major city. If you are looking at developing countries the variance of the quality of education is even wider, for example, India has produced a lot of extremely talented and educated people, the CEO's of some of the major global corporations are Indians, at the same time we have some of the highest illiteracy rates in the world, even many English teachers in the rural areas are not able to speak a sentence in English. Also, major cities have a huge population of immigrants who have moved looking for better job prospects and are ofter more educated than the general populace. If we were to look only at major cities for judging the level of literacy and to suggest changes to let's say the primary education system, we would be making huge blunders.

Even the lifestyle of people living in major cities is widely different than people living in rural areas. Often you would find rich people in the cities roaming around with wireless noise-canceling headphones with smartwatches on their wrists, connected to the world through every social media platform available. This is not the case with people living in rural areas who might not have seen a computer before in their lives. The kind of food people eat, the clothing, the ideology of the people is contrastingly different in the two areas.

Thus it would be unfair and inappropriate to judge a society based only on the study of major cities. We must give the rural and smaller places their due importance in society, for they contribute equally or not more.