Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The author implies the reason of which the scandals are necessary. Scandals not only attract the audience’s focus on the problems, but also influence the perspective of the public. It is undeniable that the scandals is the useful tool to make the public concentrated on the society topic, such as economic recession, policy or any other issues.

In a democratic nation, news media plays an important role in supervising the government. For example, residents do not know what the presidents did during the job; however, the media can reveals the scandals about corruption or any other illegal matters, which help the public to realize and protect their country. Albeit scandals are considered as a good measure to control government’s power, they are based on scanty truth sometimes.

There is no doubt that people loves news with attractive topic; namely, the scandals of celebrities arrested much more concentration of the public. Nevertheless, in order to augment revenue of the company, the staff of media pursue the scandals based on assumption rather than truth. The celebrities, as a result, loose their privacy under the supervision of the media; furthermore, some entertainers cannot tolerate the overwhelming criticism and suicide. The phenomenon was demonstrated by the increased rate of singers’ suicide in Korea.

With regard to the perspective, the scandals make an impact on the opinion of the public. People tend to form the incomplete picture of the society by virtue of scandals. For instance, there are more columns of scandals than that of universal news in order to increase the sales of newspapers. However, redundant scandals make people consider the society without satisfaction or even with more criticism. The researchers claim that the scandals are one of the reasons which contribute to dwindling satisfaction in modern society.

By the way of conclusion, not only can scandals supervise the government, they can also increase criticism and suicide. Scandals have the advantages and disadvantages. Most important of all, scandals should be controlled in a proper way to play their role, supervision.