Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The statement depicts the responsibility of educational institutions. From my perspective of view, I disagree with the claim. According to the laws, children have the rights to be educated in order to knowledge about not only theory and practical skills but also the thoughts of lives. Under no circumstances can someone deprive the rights. What is the meaning of education? The question has been discussed from the past to the present; in addition, the policy of education is amended for many times in order to decrease the crime rate and unemployment rate.

Not only does the statement claim the goal of the education is to pursue the profession, but it also implies the aim is to success. Students are desired to be professional in their favorite fields; nevertheless, everyone has diverse talents. There is no doubt that the teachers have the responsibility to persuade the students in pursuit of their success based on their talents. However, do the teachers have the rights to recognize the impossibilities of students because of scanty intelligence? Based on the statement, in addition, it makes much more emphasis on the pursuit of success, which is equivalent to the standard of testing scores.

In terms of the success, everyone pursues the different goal, academic success or practical knowledge. However, academic success is not the guarantee of employment. Apart from the academic performance, it is significant to learn the practical skills in order to face the unexpected unemployment. Therefore, not only can it decrease the unemployment rate, but it can also dwindle the crime rate, which might be result from the poor and the homeless.

Apart from the academic performance, on the other hand, morality plays an important role in our lives. From my perspective of view, students should be taught the thoughts of lives rather than reaching the academic success. For example, students spare no efforts to pursue the high grades in order to demonstrate their abilities; however, some students cannot tolerate the frustrations, such as the low grades, and suicide. In contrast to learning the morality, students are taught to reach perfection so that they are responsible people. As the result, many juveniles lost their lives by virtue of the frustrations according to the news.

The meaning of the education is in debate all over the world. In the Western countries, the aim of education is to encourage the children to pursue their favorite field; by contrast, in the Eastern countries, the goal of education is reaching the higher grades in order to improve competent. Although the statement depicts one of the functions, I cannot agree that it emphasizes the importance of reaching the success.