A school or college should pay its teachers at the same rate in all disciplines, regardless of differences in salaries for related fields in the world outside of school. For example, entry-level teachers in mathematics and in the arts should receive the same pay, even if outside of school math specialists earn a much higher salary on average than do specialists in the arts.

All school teachers went through the same process of learning to acquire knowledge regardless of their field: art and math student both went to primary school, attended high school, then these teachers try to colleges to earn their degrees. Some teachers even went further by pursuing professional degrees. On getting a job as a teacher, both teachers carry out the same duty – which is to impact knowledge into the students. Thus, teachers at the level do the same job and should receive the same payment rate regardless of the world outside school.

The school system is different from the system of other specialist in the outside world. Teachers of the same level do the same job irrespective of the subject they teach. Maths and arts teacher both attended classes to inculcate knowledge into the students. Both exerts same energy, though using different styles as different subject requires different methods of teaching. When schools decide to pay teachers based on how the teacher’s field specialist payment in the outside world, prejudice will set in. The impartiality of school in paying teachers of the same level different amounts will have an adverse effect on the education system.

At first, teachers with less pay will feel reluctant with their jobs. Payment of teachers base on their field will lead to teachers with less pay feeling reluctant to carry out their duty diligently. Imagine a math teacher - of the same level with a music teacher – receiving higher salary than the music teacher. The music teacher will feel loath and wont’ teach earnestly like the math teacher. Thus, teachers should not be paid based on the way their field is paid in the outside world.

In addition to that, because of some teachers unwillingness to teach due to the biased system of payment, students will be negatively affected as student will tend to excel more in courses which had higher paid teacher taking it than courses with lower paid teachers. For example, due to the music teacher’s unwillingness to sedulously carry out his duty, students will deprived of full knowledge in music subject which will lead to students failing such subject when test are taken.

True, some might say paying teachers of the same level at the same rate irrespective of their fields will favour teachers of less income field and will lead to schools being biased with teachers with higher income field. Some might even go further to quibble that all courses have different relevance in the outside world and some courses are weighty than other courses. These are true to some length. But, considering the effect of such system on teachers that are less favored, education system won’t serve its purpose.

In conclusion, comparing teachers payment to the how their courses are paid for in the outside world is a perilous decision as it will have an adverse effect on the student. Thus, teachers at the same level should receive the same rate irrespective of the significance of their courses in the outside world.