Scientists and other researchers should focus their research that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people

According to this verbal expression, the primary goal of scientific study should be to promote human welfare. I'm sure there are a plethora of people that accede with me. Whenever a scientific breakthrough has availed the general public in resolving a pressing issue, it has been lauded. People revere those who have had a consequential impact on their life, whether it's the revelation of penicillin or the invention of the light bulb. Because environmental difficulties, sickness, and energy constraints are all paramount, scientists aren't obligated to prioritise human health.

The paramountcy of public health research cannot be overstated for the entire human population. Without medication, electricity, and automobiles, people would not live past 60, and they would not be able to go out at night or drive 10 miles to meet friends. Medicine, electricity, and automobiles have all transmuted our lives for the preponderant.

Environmental issues, on the other hand, are a top priority for us. Our lives were revolutionised by the Industrial Revolution and subsequent technological revolutions. However, our circumventions have altered. Forest overexploitation and oil spills have ruined natural ecosystems and transmuted the bodies of numerous creatures. Even if it does not directly damage humans, environmental degradation has an impact on human development. The quantity of victuals accessible to other species in the pabulum chain diminishes as a result of over-exploitation of forests. As a result, scientists must now concentrate their efforts on environmental issues. Many research projects fixating on terrestrial renovation, habitat reconstruction, and imperilled species conservation can avail the ecosystem and biodiversity

Keep in mind that our actions have a direct impact on our health. Our current issues are not the same as those faced by our predecessors, and future generations' concerns cannot be addressed in the same way. Industrialization and capitalism have resulted in increased pollution, which is to blame for many of today's woes. Respiratory and hearing problems are caused by increased air and noise pollution. Certain diseases are more prevalent today than they were a few decades ago. Smallpox, which affected many of our forefathers, has, however, been eradicated. Limiting research on an issue because it is unknown today is a particularly short-termist tactic.

The author also fails to recognise that scientific progress does not always result in a predetermined outcome or advantage. For example, the radio was created specifically for the US Navy. In rural areas and poor countries, radio is the most popular source of entertainment and information. Similarly, the full potential of commercial dye was only realised once it was adopted by the fashion industry. It paved the path for many people to pursue a career in chemistry as a business. Unintended discoveries are ignored in the author's perspective. If Sir Alexander Fleming had just focused on bigger issues, he would not have discovered penicillin.

A number of subjects must be considered before the research scope question can be answered. To make a choice, all of the above points of view must be considered.

In conclusion, It's reasonable to expect researchers to concentrate their efforts on topics that will benefit society, but the disadvantages outweigh the benefits. Such a programme may actually impede good discoveries by lowering the synergistic effect of multidisciplinary research and reducing general scientific ardour.