Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

I disagree with given statement, as it is unacceptable. Scientist and researchers cannot even choose their area of field to give benefit to the greatest number of people. Benefits from outcome of a research are good for the society but it is not in the hand of Scientist.

Before choosing a research area, Scientist does not even know the result of its research. It is a universal fact that no one can see the future. Outcome of a research is based on future which is not in the hand of Scientist.

Experiments are done by the Scientists while pursuing a research and those experiments are based on hit and trial methods. Here, hit and trial method means Scientist try all possible methods according to their knowledge to make their experiment successful and by doing so they may get some successful and some unsuccessful results. They do not have any idea about those successful and unsuccessful results even before performing the experiment. So, it is obvious that they don’t know about the result before choosing their area of field.

There are many inventions already taken place in the world which presently does not give any benefit to anyone but they are done by Scientists and researchers. Scientists do not have any control on result, so they start their research on the basis of their interest and curiosity of the subject of a research. As Science is all about facts, Scientists always have curiosity to know more and more facts about their subject in which they have interest. On the basis of that curiosity, they keep performing experiments of their research again and again without taking care about benefits of the result of research to people. Some Scientists are even curious about both successful and unsuccessful results because both type of result will enhance their knowledge about the Science.

Thus, Scientist and other researcher cannot even choose their area of field to give benefits to the greatest number of people because they work on the basis of curiosity about the subject without taking care about result and also they cannot even know the result before performing the research.