Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit

the greatest number of people.

From time immemorial, man has strived to achieve new goals and come up with latest discoveries by means of innovation, dedication and hard work. While some of the findings were by accidental means, few inventions came through nature and others by improving the original ideas. Researchers’ focus was only on finding the solutions of all the problems faced by an individual rather than distinguishing it into the benefit attained by a larger or smaller group. Hence, I strongly believe that the focus should rely on mankind giving equal weightage to relevant problems faced by them.

In the stone age, man found out that rubbing of two stones gave rise to spark, which is the fire used even today for simple task like cooking to the discovery of major nuclear bombs. even though the discovery was by chance, it has led to the benefit of myriad number of people. On the other hand, the invention of flight by Wright brothers, merely by the introspection of nature as to how birds fly, was a major benchmark in the history of mankind, owing to the fact that thousands of miles could be travelled within a short span of time in comparison to the other modes of transport.

Further, in the field of medicine, scientists have discovered many medicines, a panacea for most of the deadly diseases prevalent even today. For example, smallpox was considered lethal as it took away the lives of millions of people around the world. The cure of such a deadly disease has proven to be beneficial to a greater lot. but it does not mean that scientists should focus only on killer diseases like cancer, AIDS, etc. What about the slow poisonous and harmful effect of environmental hazards that we are facing today due to the high level of pollutants in the atmosphere. it cannot be neglected as it is killing us inch by inch and day by day. The problems like stress, anxiety disorder, fatigue, albeit not evident, are draining our energy and will prove to be lethal, if not treated on time. if proper medications are not discovered, then the people living in the current scenario with a heavy work pressure are sure to have a low mortality rate. such pressing issues are the need of the hour, which though not clearly seen, if left unchecked could lead to a disastrous effect.

Nevertheless, research should be conducted in view of the future and accounting for the whole lot of people on earth. For example, advances in the field of science and technology has taken a mammoth size in recent years to check whether life could exist in places apart from the earth. The recent effort taken by the Indians to get details about the moon, using the Chandrayaan spacecraft, although a failure, is a laudable one. Unless efforts are taken by the research individual, we cannot expect our nation to be a successful one in all diverse aspects. examples as this proves that space scientists consider, not only the need of humans but also keep the future in mind.

Thus, to sum, it can be reiterated that, discoveries made need not ascertain the role of greater or lesser number of people. scientists could dedicate their life to yielding success not only in the field of medicine and technology but also in issues relating to the everyday needs of human beings.