Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Children are God gifted and everyone has talent. Some children have special talent at an early age which might be visible to everyone, while some children attain talent at an older age. According to the recommendation, society should nurture the children with special talent, while society shouldn’t entertain the children who don’t have talent for training. There are several reasons for the disagreement with this recommendation.

In 21st century, it is irrefutable to say that children are born talented. They are so smart, so bright and so creative. If Society recognizes their talent and give them proper training at an early age, they can achieve a great milestone because early age is the period where children can learn and grasp easily. Nobody is aware of the accomplishments of Williams sister. They started their tennis coaching at the age of four and they did home-school because they used to send most of their time at tennis court. Today, they have the 3rd maximum grand slams title in doubles with her sister also several titles in singles. They set a paradigm for women in the era of sports.

However, it is unfair to segregate the children based on their talents. Here question arise how society is judging the talent. Do they have talent meter to measure? Because of this segregation, there would be many children who would get demotivated. For example, Thomas Edison was dyslexic, which prohibited him to succeed in classroom. His teacher described him as “addled” and his father thought that he was stupid. Because of his innovative mind, which was not judged at the early age, he had to face all such incidences. Later, he became a well-known inventor for the invention of incandescent light bulb. Hence, it is very difficult to distinguish children based on talent because there are some hidden talents also which develop with age.

Additionally, these talent recognition & training put pressure on children and parents as well. They devote more time on training and skip school. After training also, if that child didn’t get the opportunity to succeed, they feel tensed and pressured to succeed. Their parents also get depressed and create an unpleasant environment in family. For instance, in elementary school, they select students for advanced program by taking their exam. Students who don’t get in the advanced program feel depressed because their friends got selected and he doesn’t. There is a website Testingmom.com where many parents share their stories that how much they and their child are demotivated by not getting selected in this program and how it has created an unpleasant environment in their family. Specially, these days there are so much competition among children that it is very hard for the families and children to face any adverse consequences.

Therefore, it is undeniable that everyone has talent. Society shouldn’t differentiate children based on their talent because it’s consequence may affect children. When there are already so much competition everywhere, children should not be pressurized for such training. Because future is not certain, children might lose interest after rigorous training. Children should enjoy their childhood and make it memorable.