The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular- strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. The explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infections is the use of UltraClean soap.”

At first glance, the argument seems reasonable that UltraClean hand soap is more effective than the liquid hand soap. UltraClean hand soap results in decrease of harmful bacteria by 40 percent than the liquid hand soap. Therefore, the director of a large group of hospitals states in the memo that the UltraClean hand soap helps in lowering the patient infection by 20 percent, but there are several alternative explanations to this argument.

One alternative explanation concerns the UltraClean hand soap which according to the director of the hospital assumes that concentrated solution of UltraClean hand soap helps in cleaning the harmful bacteria more effectively than the liquid hand soap. There are several plausible explanations. For one, it might be some other ingredient or chemical in the hand soap which helps in getting rid of the harmful bacteria. It is possible that UltraClean hand soap manufacturers just used the common terms concentrated or dilute solution to explain their products to the hospital management. Another explanation is that UltraClean hand soap manufacturers might have provided the professional Janitor to the hospital in order to launch its new product in the market.

Another possible explanation involves the hospital. The director of the hospital claims that the hospital reported 20 percent decrease in patient infection compared to the other hospitals in their group. There are many possible explanations. First, it seems hospital might have got new management and their main focus might be to keep the hospital clean 24 *7. If the hospital is maintained properly in terms of hygiene, automatically there would be less chances of infection. Secondly, hospital might have given the cleanliness contract to the third-party vendor and they might be monitoring it properly. It could be possible that they might have changed their mission and wanted to become no. 1 hospital in town.

The lack of substantiated data on the study of liquid hand soaps causes serious flaws in the argument itself. There was no source of the study. We don’t know who conducted the study. It might be the UltraClean hand soap company did the study to know the effectiveness of their product. In such scenario, they concluded with their desired result without considering other factors. There is no representative sample mentioned in the study. Furthermore, the statement doesn’t describe the date of studies. They haven’t mentioned whether they have compared ward to ward of the hospitals. It’s not at all clear from the argument which kind of hospitals have been considered for study. Perhaps, they did the study when the hospital didn’t have sufficient inpatients.

In conclusion, there were several plausible explanations to this argument. The author made flaws in the argument regarding UltraClean hand soap, hospital and the evidence. It is very unlikely to conclude that the UltraClean hand soap helps in lowering the patient infections by 20 percent.