The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

In this argument, the author urged to consider that it is better to use the UltraClean hand soap rather than the other liquid hand wash soap to reduce the cases of infection within the hospital premises. To support this recommendation, he cited that there has been the 40 percent decrease in infection cases of staff and patient visiting the hospital. While most people agree to this I, however, find this argument unconvincing and will be stating most conspicuous reasons to rear my standpoints.

First, the author states that the decrease in infection is due to the fact that staff and patients are using the UltraClean hand soap. This claim cannot be accepted as it stands. It is entirely possible to assume that the majority of the infection comes from outside the hospital which can be contagious via patients and visitors. Also, there is nothing written about the location of the hospital as it is possible that it may be situated near highways or any building construction area due to which the dust particles along with pathogens find their way penetrating inside of the hospital. The suggested solution of using UltraClean hand soap can help in disinfecting the patients and the staff using within the hospital premises but hospital administration has no control of the bacterias and viruses coming from the outside of the hospital area. while the brief statement of using the suggested UltraClean hand soap seems to be the robust idea, however, it deficit between what is states and what there is too evident for it and is too large to be overlooked. This ultimately cases a week argument that will count against the authors' conclusion.

Second, according to the report, there has bee 20 percent in the cases of infection after using the UltraClean hand soap. Here, correlation does not prove causation. The reduction of infection is not directly proportional to the use of UltraClean hand soap but rather many other factors come into play. For instance, the proper floor sanitization on regular intervals with the right kind of floor cleaner, removal of hospital wastage from dustbins and also the from the cafeteria. The installation of air purifiers within the hospital premises also plays a vital role in maintaining the proper sanitization in reducing the chances of infection among the hospital staff and patients. Therefore, this assumption is unwarranted and lacks compelling reasons to convince the author's proposal.

Third, the author hypothesized that the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection after using UltraClean hand soap. This assumption seems to be overgeneralized. It is also possible that the patients visiting during the test timings contained lesser infectious pathogens than the other times. Also, the hospital might have been biased in showing the correct results as it can question the hospital reputation which eventually decreases the hospital revenue. Thus the careful perusing the evidence in the argument reveals that too many questions have been left unanswered.

In conclusion, this is not the strong argument and to bolster it the author must at very at least provide the concrete evidence regarding the source of the pathogens in the hospital, perhaps by the extensive and unbiased testing, which will strengthen the author's claim.