Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Major Cities represent the development index for a country. Major cities of most nations also preserve the culture that is inherited from generations. It is said that if we need to understand the country ethnicity we must live in the its capital city. I agree and support the claim made by the author that in order to maintain the capital cities, the necessary financial fund is needed from time to time.

One compelling reason for my belief is that major cities have different ethnicity receding in it. For instance, in New York, the people of more than 50 nationalities are living and working there. 30 percent of overall population accounts for immigrants in New York City. The pressure on subways system was inimical that Government has now allowed trains to run 24/7. Also with increase in subways timings, the cost needed to maintain it increases proportionally. the new staff is recruited and appointed on different stations and a new salary structure is made. According to Times now, the population is going to increase linearly in upcoming days and so as the need for electric power supplies in the housing facilities. Perhaps there is also an increase in home appliances like Air conditioning which is recommending for more uneven power supply. Therefore, in order to run a major city, the financial support from the government seems imperative.

Another reason for my view is, major cities comprises of major museums, public parks, fully furnished societies, maintained drainage system and a good transportation network. All their amenities cost hefty portion of the city annual budget. Also most industries have their offices situated in major cities. Parliaments and government offices also takes the space in capital cities. Any foreign minister usually visits the major cities while travelling. Therefore, financial budget is needed for maintenance to ensure that everything goes smooth and lucid.

However, some might argue that the preference of culture and its tradition is better seen in the cities nearby towns and villages, thereafter needed a good portion of investment from the annual budget but they are a smaller part of community that serves hand full of people , not the people from different nationalities. Also, with the absence of corporate office it seems difficult for government to put forth more fund then necessary.

In conclusion, it is clear that city act as a showcase for the culture and scientific development for any country therefore the good financial budget is needed in order to run and maintain it.