The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

In this argument, the Vice president of Health Naturally urged to consider that opening a new store of their chain in Plainsville is profitable for the Business. To support his recommendation, he cited that Denizens of this town are more concerned towards their health and therefore can bring more profit to business but having their food and health products. I find this argument unconvincing and not cogent for some reasons.

First, the author states that the people living in Plainsville are highly concerned with their healthy lifestyle, therefore, opening the store in the town will be profitable. This claim cannot accept as it stands. It is equally possible to assume that the citizens walk a lot daily as the bus and train stations are on the out skirts of town. Also, it might be possible that it is a low-income area due to which they can not afford to buy car thus relying solely on foot and bicycles and all of this can be the reason for their fitness. Perhaps, people like to eat more organic rather buying food from stores which could be the reason for their good health. The author never mentioned the reasons of fitness for the Plainsville's citizen. Therefore, while the brief statement of selling the health products in the town seems to be a robust idea, it deficit between what stated and what is there to evident from it and is too large to be overlooked. This ultimately causes a week argument that will count against the authors conclusion.

Second, the Vice president hypothesized that revitalization of the old local health club is the indication for more members looking forward to health equipments and other health products. Here, the correlation does not prove the causation. It is possible to assume that the members of the health club are from the nearby town and prefer to come her just for exercise and gym, preferring to buy health products from their home town. The author did not mentioned the size of health club so it might be possible that the health size members are just a hand cup of people who enjoy having weight-training and aerobics classes, indicating that there is a lesser market for the upcoming health store in that area. Thus this assumption is unwarranted and over generalized and argument lacks the compelling and affluent reasoning to convince his Proposal.

Third, the author cited that future generating is getting ready, as the new customers, for the utilization of his stores due to the participation in the school program. It might make sense to educated students for having the healthy lifestyle however, the author fails to accomplish the fact that most school children do not take healthy eating and exercising seriously rather they are compelled to do it just because of their school. Therefore, this does not guarantee the future customers for the author's store. The careful perusing of the evidence provided in the argument reveals that many questions have been left unanswered without which the reader cannot consider it to be consequential.

In conclusion, this is a vague and ambiguous argument. To bolster it, the vice-president, must at very least, should offer the strong evidence of his claim of opening his line of the store, perhaps by the survey participating the denizens of Plainsville, to know the real amount of customers so that can benefit from the Health Naturally store.