Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Humans have been living on earth for thousands of years and the extend to which we have exploited earth is staggering. Day in , day out we use nature for our benefit, it's high time we gave nature the care it deserves. The prompt puts forward a disagrement between two opposing views and I would like to agree with the former that corporations do need to promote the well being of the society and environment, explaining via three points.

Governments all around the globe have taken huge steps into minimising the damage done by these corporations on the enviornment and health conditions of the people, for instance, the introduction of policies like CSR, which require the corporations to pay a certain portion of their profits in order to do good for the society. This has made corporations indirectly, although reluctantly help the society.

Although the government provide schemes and restrictions on the amount of polutants these industries produce, industries often find ways to go around them and somehow make their production better and earn profit at the expence of distroying the nature. For example the case of Yamuna river in northern India, although one of the famous rivers of the country, it showcases an abundance of polutants, because of the ignorance of corporate industries.Corporations being powerful in terms of wealth, should in fact help out the government in making sure that society is helped, and reduce the amount of waste they excrete.

Tragedies are a common site when corporations try to ooze out every penny they can, while caring as little as possible for the enviornment, take for example the Bhopal gas tragedy, that cost thousands of deaths and millions of people to suffer, generations of malfuctioning in their bodies and loss of dear ones, all because of the negligance of a chemical factory. This example states the importance why corporations should be more concerned about the well being of the society.

One can argue that corporations are trying to ease the problems of the society by providing with them goods and services people need and so the corporations need not do more, but isn't that precicely the point? Helping people?, If helping the society is the ultimate goal, then coporations must look into themselves, evaluate and come out with a better aproach to make money for themselves, but not at the expence of the society they are trying to serve.