The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Freedom embraces creativity, fosters intelligence and spreads happiness. The prompt recommends that the well being of a society is enhanced when the people in it question it's authority, and I strongly agree with this recommendation. Below are the three major reasons to support this recommendation.

More than 90 percent of the countries in the world right now are democracies in one form or the other, meaning the people in these countries have the right to elect, question and overthrow a government. Take for instance, worlds largest superpower, United States of America, home for the pinacle of technology, art, fashion, you name it. Clearly if almost all of the countries are converting to a democracy, it must mean something. People in a free country can express their views, not only that, they can be assured that their view point will be heard and adequate action will be taken, hence these countries tend to prosper.

Almost a centuary ago there were many communist countries, threatening the effectiveness of democracy, but as anyone can see the trend is shifting towards democracy. Although the number of communist countries is significantly low, it is intresting to note that on an average democratic countries are far more prosperous than communuist ones, with an exception of some countries like China. take for example the state of North korea, wherin a slight criticism for it's monarch can result in death penaly, even public execution. Even the economy growth rate for democratic countries is significantly higher, Take for example India, one of the fasrtest growing economies in the world, was a poor country half a centuary ago, entangled in a web of colonialism and monarchy. This shows that when a country is set free and the people in it can question authority freely, there is absolute surity that it will grow, and if you let a country suffer in the hands of a cruel regime, the consquences are evident as in the case of North korea.

Taking a look at history, we can observe how monarchs have destroyed countries they ruled, using people as slaves, using the whole country as their private property, performing any maniac deeds they wish to do without being questioned, The example lies in the plathora of monarchs in India in the 1700s, who ruled for decades, for their own benifit, caring verry little, if any for the people. this shows how an abuse of power can be achieved if not kept in check.

One can argue that monarchs/ communists do belive in freedom and are made in efforts to imrpove the lives of people in them, well although on paper a communist coyuntry may look good, but the reality is what we are witnessing now, the shift towards a free nation, where everyone has a right to express and where everyone can question the ruling of authority.