The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The application for a small buisness loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe states that establishing a jazz night club at Mourne could be profitable because of the popularity of Monroe's annual jazz festival, the ratings of night program 'jazz Nightly' and the homes of jazz musicians being in Monroe. the argument seems to be flawed as it is riddled with 3 assumptions that if proved to be false could render this argument futile.

Firslty, the assumption is made that homes of famous Jazz personalities in the locality would lure these personalities to a Jazz music club, for instance, there are many Hollywood actors living in New York City, but that doesn't mean that these actors will be willing to attend a theatre perfomance, infact they will be busy with their tight schedules that they won't have time to attend theatre. So, as the example of actors, there is a possibility that these jazz players would not want to go to a Jazz night club. If this assumption is false, the argument holds no water.

Secondly, it is assumed that jazz players will stay at their homes. Mnroe could be to Jazz as Monaco is to Formula 1, For instance, majority of the Formula 1 drivers have their houses in Monaco, but they don't live there, they travel across the world, pursuing their careers. Meaning that they have little interaction at Monaco, even though they have their houses there. Same could be extrapolated into Monroe, jazz players could have there houses there but there is no guarentee that they spend considerable time in the city. If this assumption is false, there is no relevance for the number of popular musician's houses being in the city.

Thirdly, it is assumed that the footfall of 100,000 people attending the Monroe's annual jazz festival will be replicated if a jazz music club is opened in the city. This is not true, for instance, going back to the example of Monaco and Formula 1, there is very little craze about Formula 1 in Monaco, but the monaco grand prix, is one of the oldest and prestigious races of the calender, luring people all over the world. This could be the case with Monroe as well, there is a possibility that the majority of the 100,000 footfall was from around the globe and not from Monroe. If this assumption is false, then there is no basis for creating a jazz music club at Monroe.

In conclusion, there are far fetched assumptions on which this arument is based, if accurate evidence to prove these conjecures is not provided, uninterested analysis of this argument would not be possible, and the assertion of establishment of a jazz music club would be rendered absurd.