The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans are social animals, they have relied upon their compatriots to thrive forward and prosper. The prompt recommends that the greatness of individuals must be decided only by those who live after them and not by their contemporaries. I strongly disagree with the prompt, listing three reasons to support my argument.

People are made of their surroundings, humans being are animals and they prosper in accordance with their surrounding. For example, an athlete from a poor country, having lived his entire life in poverty may not be able to compete with an athlete from a rich background, solely because he grew up in a place not suitable for his nurturing. As this example states, there were certain times in history wherin living conditions were unfathomable for the current generatuion and thus for an accurate evaluation of a person's greatness, their contemporaries are the best source.

People react and develop in accordance with their surroundings, adding on to my previous point, for instance, in the early 18th centuary, when women weren't considered equal to men. At that time people who stood up to the cause of women might still have been a bit sexist, which is justified because of the society they grew up in. Another example can be of the great leader Mahatma Gandhi, he is still criticised for some things he might have done that were acceptable in his time but are now seen as a taboo. So evaluating their greatness with reference to the modern society, as of ours will not yield uninterested results. Thus people should be evaluated by those who lived in their time .

Contemporaries of great people know the hardships, the restrictions, the oppositions faced by them at their time. Society wasn't as lenient as it is now, people weren't as open as they are now and to question great people while sitting at bedside watching telivision, in the comfort of luxury isn't justified. For example, the great president Abraham Lincon, has been criticised by many for considering black people as inferior, even though he was fighting for them. The reason for such criticism is that modern critics fail to understand that era, their culture, and what Abraham was tought as a child, how he grew up, etc. This example gives a clear indication as to why There is a need for evaluation of these great people by their contemporaries.

Ofcource people might argue that contemporaries will favor these great people. Although this might be the case sometimes, but it must be remembered , there have been no great events in the history without any context, and to evaluate a person, you definitly need context. Therefore it is necessary that the greatness of individuals is accesed by their contemporaries.