The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores. ”Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore states that the chain of rental stores should cut down operational costs for all their branches, by extrapolating a result from one of their stores to close at 6pm and eliminate all movie stocks aging 5 years or more. In order to be accurately evaluated, 5 questions must be answered.

Firslty, how is it assumed that the situations at the store at downtown Marston is in anyway similar to that in other stores, perhaps the other stores are at city center while the downtown Marston store is at the outskirts, adding to that , there could be signifact differences in sizes of shops and their intended customers, thus for an accurate predition, the similarity between the stores must be established with thorough facts.

Secondly, why is there a need to close the shop at 6pm? although closing the shop at 6pm may reduce operational costs, it may also result in a pitfall in the amount of sales made, as people may prefer to go to a video game rental after work/school hours. For instance, the number of people going for theatre at the evening is considerably more than people seeing the movies at day time, morover the target audance are mainly school children, who have to attend to school at daytime. This question of the amount of sales made per operational cost must be thoroughly evaluated and data should be provided accordingly.

Thirdly, Why is there a need to eliminate video games dating 5 years or more? although there is a technological boom and the video game quality is on an ever increasing rate, but the value of vintage games don't die out. Take for example, car racing lovers could opt to play out the 2005 NFS most wanted again than a below par new racing game. There should be accurate data about the trends of people regarding their choice of video games (old vs new), for this question to be accurately answered.

Fourth, Why should the operational costs be reduced only by reducing the working hours?Operating costs could be reduce by a decrease in staff, rather than a decrease in working hours as, rush hoirs could be identified by obsrevation and accordingly the number of employees in those hours could be made more while reducing the number of employees when customers are scarce.

Fifth, why is it percieved that the reduction in recent decline of profits a clear indication of the market falling off? a plummet of sales could be because of an off season and not neccesarily a reflection of dying of the video game market, accurate trend regarding the amount of sales in recent years should be evaluated before reaching this conclusion

The argument is clearly flawed, there need to be solid answers to the above mentioned questions before coming into a conclusion regarding the fate of other stores in the cghain of Movie Galore. Answers to these questions will help evaluate the argument effectively.