The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station asserts that WWAC must change format from rock-music to news and talk format, by arguing about the news and talk's popularity and increasing old people in their locality reducing their slales. This argument has flaws and below are four evidences that are needed to be provided to be able to evaluate this agrument accurately.

Firstly, the memorandum states that the population growth is because of an increase in intake of people after their retirement into the area, but there could be a chance of their children or grandchildren who might also join them. For instance, there are still famalies who live together, so although on paper the house would be in the name of olderly people, it could be inhabited by younger people as well. So more evidence regarding the exact proportion of old people in the locality should be provided.

Morover, there could be a possibility that the area was predominantly filled with older people, even before the population increase, which could mean that there hasn't been a change in taste of music among people. For example, there is a posibility that the older people in the area loved rock music very much and thus prefered WWAC radio. So accurate evidence regarding the earlier and now percentages of old people should be provided in order to evaluate the argument effectively.

Thirdly, there is a possibility that a monopoly is being held by some other company in news and talk format, which means that even if WWAC radio shift to news and talk format, there is no guarantee of sucess. For instance, there is a technological boom right now and smartphone market is on a rise, but this doesn't mean that any new company will be able to thrive. On the contrary, because of smartphone market being so lucrative, competition will be at an all time high and thus a sucess of a company will be meager. So accurate evidence regarding the viability of coverting to news and talk format must be provided.

Fourthly, there could be innovations in the way in which music is displayed, allowing larger chunks of intrest to foster and increasing the overall sales. Dismissing the current rock-music format altogether because of the recent slump would be foolish without further evaluation of the needs of people in the area.

This argument is definitly flawed and more evidence regarding the above mentioned four points should be provided in order to evaluete this arguemnt accurately. Providing evidence will enable the company to decide if or not to change their format and would give valuable insight on how they may get their sales higher without making radical changes blandly.