Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt states that Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors, by arguing the underperformance of students compared to Alpha university in the job market and the supposedly high increase in the grades of students. The argument seems to be flawed and further evidence regarding these three matters must be provided to accurately evaluate the situation.

Firstly, there is no evidence provided about the similarity in the kind of education provide in Alpha University and Omega University. Employers looking for employees will look for candidates who have prior knowledge in the field of work their company operates in. For example, an airplane manufacturer would prefer to select an Aeronautical engineer rahter than a Mechanical engineeer with the same grades, further there can be a specific subject that is tought in Alpha university and not taught in Omega university, and the employers might be looking for proficiency in that particular subject. Thus more evidence on the similarity of curriculum should be provided otherwise an accurate comparison between employement rates of these two Universities can't be made.

Secondly, the increase in grades could simply be a consequence of teachers teaching better because of their fear of getting bad remarks from students, for example a raise for employee of the month would increase the efficiency of the company, thus assuming that professors are giving out free grades could be wrong. Accurate evidence regarding the actual reason for the spike must be provided in order for this argument ot be evaluated.

Morover the the spike in the results of Omega University could be because of an easing of their curriculum. For example, students will do well in the tests if the tests were easy or if the subjects were reduced. So information regarding the difficulty of cirriculum now and 15 years ago should be provided in order to evlaluate the argument correctly.

This argument is flawed in many ways, terminating student evaluation of professors could turn out to be a blunder and outright foolishness if adequate evidence is not provided for the above falacies. To evaluate the argument and to decide whether to abolish student evaluation of professors, adequate evidence need to be provided.