The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine: “Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine asserts that resources should be invested solely in unmanned space flight. This conclusion is made by claiming that manned space flight is costly and dangerous. To be able to be evaluated this conclusion needs to shed light on these four major assumptions.

Firstly, although the letter states that manned space flights are costly, there is a possibility that the data recieved (per unit cost) is more for manned space flights. For example, buying a high price for value car is much better than buying a low priced crapy car, morover buying a primeier seat for 2 dollars more is much more gratifying than sitting in an awful position at a theater, by paying less. Point being, when considering such important issues, cost as a factor must be sidelined and the output should be kept in mind.If the data per unit cost is lesser or even similar for an unmanned flight compared to a manned one, there is no use in providing funding for unmanned flights.

Secondly, the letter states that unmanned space flights are less costly. Accurate data regarding this pricing must be mentioned because controling a space flight from ground is a challenging job which does need an enormous amount of capital. If costs are similar to that of manned flights, there is no point in spending enormous amount of money in unmanned flights.

Thirdly, the data itself could be skewed that is recieved from an unmaned space flight as there is no human to incorporate the new challenges that an unmanned flight might face in a novel enviornment as outerspace. For example, there there has been numerous ocasions wherein technology has stopped responding, leaving the task to be done by a human.

Fourth, there is no support or data provided about the succces of these unmanned space fligjhts, there have been many instances wherein it has been almost impossible to land a certain rover or to make communication with it. for example, just realizing the number of failed unmanned attempts to land rovers on moon has shown that, technlogy alone can't, by todays standards equal what humans can.

In conclusion, this argument is definitly flawed, it doesn't hold much water, and there is heavy requirement of a lot of evidence to evaluate this argument succesfully.