Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

" A picture is worth a thousand words"

The quote clearly states the significance of the art. Art can have a lasting impact on human mind, and can convey very long messages in subtle yet effective way. Art can many times be used as a tool to influence people and their decisions. Tool is not in its pure form good or bad but the way it is used decides whether it is perceived as good tool or bad tool. Government funding can help the art to flourish, but only if government does not explicitly controls its form and provides necessary independence to the artists.

Throughout the hisory, it is evident that art has flourished in the kingdoms who have supported art by providing them necessary fundings and applauding artists for their work. Some Mughal Badshahs supported artists by providing them necessary facilities and appraisals for their work. It was Akbar, who had Navratnas in his darbar who played major role for development of art in that era. It was the rewards given for their creations which influenced many artists. But some sycophant artists used their art to satisfy their greeds through praising the badshah to get more rewards from him. Such bias led to contamination of pure art form and broke its integrity, as pointed out by some. Art will flourish only if it is independent. Art was also used to influence a people to change their belief by depicting their traditional beliefs as wrong and bad and misrepresent the history.

Alternatively, art can be used as an effective tool to promote good habits. As many films and poetries can help bring change in the better way. During the Clean India movement, it was those subtle art forms which led the people to change their bad habits.

To conclude, to encourage artists to pursue the art as a career, it is required to have some financial support, and governments can provide it by various means. But this will only be effective if government decides to show no bias towards the form of the art. And the funding decisions are not made on the basis of the work of the artist.