Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

The 21st century is truly identified as the century of Information Technology and the Internet. With internet becoming available to an increasingly larger group of people, the customer base for online shopping has increased and online shopping has became accessible to larger number of people. Many giants like the flipkart, amazon, Alibaba, Airbnb have emerged into the market of online shopping and the disadvantages associated with online shopping have shrunk.

There are only a few reasons for customers to reluctantly stick to traditional shopping practices. One is a lack of trust. The constant fear of being betrayed by the seller selling them a fake product. Other one is to be not able to feel and check the product before purchase. And similarly some other finite disadvantages. The lead time of the purchase is still an issue.

With the advancements in technologies, tech giants have worked hard to constantly address those disadvantages and reach out to more and more customers. The lack of trust and the fear of being betrayed by the seller by selling a fake product are being addressed by issuing certificates, introducing premium services and also providing reviews and ratings to the sellers. The policies of No Question Returns in addition to online reviews and size measurements through image processing and computer vision technologies have addressed the issues pertaining to mismatches in size and uncertainty associated with the incapability of feeling the product before the purchase to some extent.

In addition to the elimination of these disadvantages, online shopping offers a range of advantages that outweigh the disadvantages. Online shopping of air-tickets and groceries has eliminated the trouble of standing in long queues. From the comfort of the couch and with the touch of his fingerprints a person can plan his next flight and order groceries. He now has the capability to compare and choose from a range of products. He no longer has the compulsion to buy products from the nearest shop and the choose from options available in the shop provided by the shopkeeper. He can now get the reviews of other purchasers of the same product than the biased profit-minded views and explanation of the shopkeeper or sales-person. The most valuable thing in this fast-moving world that internet-based shopping saves is the time. Now you no longer have to travel to the shop/ticket counter and stand in the almost static queue for a task as small as buying a sachet of shampoo or a ticket to Texas. You can also now check the availability of tickets, the trends in prices of tickets, compare with the prices on other days and intuitively choose your desired seat in the aircraft without bothering to bombard a person with questions. This improved customer experience has surely outweighed the disadvantages of online shopping.

So, I totally agree with the proposition and can not find a reason to switch to the internet-based shopping harnessing the power bestowed by the technology.