The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum from the manager indicates a solution for the increase in the viewers. Though this proposition seems simple, certain important evidence has not been provided in the support of the memorandum.

It has been stated that most of the complaint received from the viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news, but it remains to be proven that that same reason has resulted in the decrease in the viewership and the sole reason is responsible for that. It needs to be proven that the viewers who had complained about the station's weather and local news are the same viewers that have stopped watching the station. Also, this one is the very reason that has resulted in a decrease in advertising contracts. It is quite unclear that the complaints received from the viewers were related to the duration of the weather and local news coverage and not with the quality or any other issue pertaining to that. So, drawing the conclusion in favor of increase in time devoted to the local or weather news is hasty and inappropriate. Also, specific proofs are required to support the claim regarding the decrease in the advertising revenue. If the local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts with this station but have continued their contracts with other stations and the reason behind cancellation or termination of contracts is only the reduced time devoted to the local and weather news then only the memorandum will remain valid. It remains to be proved that other stations who have kept the time devoted to the weather and local news have recorded an increase or no change in the revenue. It might happen that local businesses have shifted their advertisement platform to other platforms than the television.

Thus, many further proofs remain to be provided in favor of the memorandum to make the suggestion of the manager valid.