"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director from the Super Screen Movie Production Company has come up with a conclusion to increase the share of the budget on advertising to reaching the public and then fetch more audience for its movies. While his conclusion is on the basis of the recent report from marketing department, some questions are yet to be addressed to come to the given conclusion from the given premises.

Firstly, the report states that fewer people have attended Super Screen produced movies in the past year than any other year. But has the same been observed with the movies from other producers? May be this year due to some alternate medium of entertainment available, viewers' preferneces might have changed resulting in overall decrease in movie viewers. In that case drawing this conclusion directly might prove naive. Also, the argument does not clarify whether the contents, quality and genre of the movies produced have remained the same. If not, then the conclusion drawn is not reasonable as there may be other factors, yet to be discovered, behind the decrease in the viewership than lack of awareness.

Though the data might be recording increasing percentage of positive reviews, but it still questionable that the dispersion of viewers have remained the same or not. Maybe only the viewers who liked the previous movies from the production house have showed up and provided positive reviews and the negative reviewers might have omitted movies last year, which is also evident from the decrease in the number of attendees. In that case, the focus should be on the improvement of the quality of movies than on advertising.

Additionally, the argument self-certifies it that the movies produced are of good quality just on the basis of increase in percentage of positive reviews, which may be because of the reasons stated in the paragraph above. Further the increase in percentage is not a reasonable data to look for while judging the quality of the movie. Rather it should be the average rating. The positive reviews might have been quantified to be rating above 3.0. So, while the median might have shifted rightwards, but the average rating of the positive reviews might have been decreased. That is also questionable. Also, the argument does not comment on whether the advertising campaign last year had the same reach than the previous year. The comparision may be viable only if all other variables are constant.

Thus, to come up with the conclusion to increase the budget for advertising is a bit naive from the given arguments. And can only be reached if the questions above are answered satisfactorily in the favor of the conclusion.