Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Mankind has discovered a unique way of escaping mundane life and that is what we call arts. Over millenniums, art has burgeoned not only as a pastime but as a profession too. Many people have adopted art as a profession regardless of its financial benefits. Despite the fact that an artist strives to become a consummate artist rather making a living out of it, government should provide funding and platforms in order to disseminate arts.

Admittedly, it’s the keen interest of the audience that disseminates arts and helps it to flourish. Arts always finds a way to its audiences whether it is promoted or not, For instance, Mozart’s compositions do not require any medium or funding to flourish. A good piece of artistic work always gets public attention. However, arts sometimes get exposed to the threat of oblivion. This is because people’s interests are morphed and evolved overtime. This is where government can play its part in preserving it. Mostly, arts portrays cultural roots and traditions of a nation and government should act as a curator by means of establishing museums, libraries etc. in order to preserve it in its true essence.

It is a quite moot belief that government’s part in promoting arts tarnishes its integrity. Plausibly, government funding for arts may imply it being ostentatious. Additionally, government might get denounced or blamed for being a part of a propaganda it corroborates such an art that conveys unorthodox or unconventional views. All such opinions should be ignored and regarded as mere critics of the commendable piece of artistic work

In conclusion, arts do not require state’s support to grow and find a place in the heart of its audience. However, government should underwrite arts in terms of preserving it. Additionally, an artist produces art through his devotion for it without a concern for the benefits he might get from it. Therefore, its integrity is impregnable and no power could undermine its true nature.