"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument claims that business in Central Plaza has decreased steadily in past two years due to increased number of skateboarding practitioners. Stereo-typically, this argument might insightful, however, there are many assumptions and unwanted questions before recommending whether skateboarders should be banned.

First of all, the author has compared the number of skateboarders over a period of two years without providing the answer to the question "what else has changed in the past two years that could have resulted in the decrease in market?". There could have been a downfall in economy, a decrease in population of the area or an opening of new mall in its vicinity. In short, there are many others factors that could have affected the market

Secondly, the author holds skateboarders responsible for littering and vandalism when there are other critical subjects that could have affected the Plaza's environment. Such subjects may include that how has plaza management changed in past two years. Hence, skateboarders cannot be blamed without questioning plaza's managment.

In conclusion, it might be a biased and ignorant judgment to ban skateboarders from the place and the problem might not be resolved by doing so. Hence, the argument is missing answer to important questions before inferring the conclusion.