Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed

political leaders get the access to various confidential and important information related to the economic, political, social and cultural aspects related to a nation. they use those information to make clear decisions and to come up with strategies to improve the situations with the prevailing conditions and possible improvements to the things what they have predicted with the analysis of information. In my opinion, public has the right to get fully informed based on how sensible or relevant that information to them. some information are better to be kept in secret because they will create restless situations within the country.

Firstly, it is a right for each and every human to be aware of what is happening in his or her country. it is because they are the tax payers to the government to make the economic developments in the country. So it is important for them to know how their money is used effectively to bring the benefits that they promised during political leader’s regime as they promised. In Watergate scandal which happened in Washington in 1970s, people were confused and rebelled against the president Robert as they got to know that the president was aware of these political advantages that the people around him got corrupting the economic and financial procedures followed and he tried to cover those information from the general public. those rebellions were organized because people have the right to know information related to the financial and economic stability and whether ethical policies are followed as they are investing their money, time, effort for the well being of the nation. Furthermore, it is important for all the citizens to know what is happening around them. Otherwise the political leaders will get the advantage of people not knowing about them and will go more with their personal agendas more than national agendas not with their personal resources but with the national resources which are not their wealth but the wealth of each and every person living on this land.

however, there are some instances where not all the information can be expressed to the public as that creates a political or social insecurity for all of them. these situations generally associates with the aspects like national security. In second world war, if all the Japanese people were aware about their codes used by the military to communicate, those sensitive information would have been carried to the enemy or the rival parties where they would act accordingly and the nation would be in a trouble. In decades of war continued in Sri Lanka, political leaders got very impressive decisions in the process of ending the war. however, it was not wise to let people know the strategies that they followed and how they got secret information through different agencies. Considering this kinds of situations, it will be imprudent to make the people fully aware of the situation.

In conclusion, there should be a limit to the extent of information that the general public should be fully aware of. Yes they have the right to get to know them ,but at the same time the political leaders have the responsibility to ensure the well being of them making them away from violence and letting them to lead a normal life without forwarding much stress on them.