Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Teachers are the builders of a society. It is what they implant into the minds of the children that sprouts and bear fruits in the future. The presented views are contradictory to each other - some people believe that understanding and empathy should be the core values of a teacher while others believe that teachers should be conscientious in their expectations. I personally feel that effective teachers are those who understand and show empathy for the following reasons.

Firstly, the teachers can be stricture and thorough with the desire to bring out the best in their students. But, will it actually bring the best out of them? The answer is no. When the teacher is conscientious, the students would follow the mandate of the teacher diligently. They even perform just as the teacher wanted them to perform - nothing less, nothing more. But, is it actually their best performance? What if the students can do better than what the teacher expected? Being thorough and demanding creates a stressful environment that inhibits children to use their own imagination and come up with even better ideas. When the teacher is understanding, the children can strike a chord with the teacher and feel comfortable communicating their thoughts and ideas without any hesitation. The congenial environment goads the children to start contemplating and even come up with ideas that the teacher never anticipated. This helps children to develop the habit of critical thinking that will help them not only the classrooms but beyond the classrooms as well - like in personal life and professional career.

Moreover, we as humans, learn a lot of things in life subconsciously just by observing others. Be it walking, talking or even caring for others. These actions get ingrained in our minds implicitly even without our knowledge. Children spend quite a sizable amount of time with their teachers. Consequently, the teachers will have an influence on the way the children evolve and grow up as adults. It is the kind of values that the children absorb inadvertently that shape the vice and virtues of the future society. The rigorous and demanding nature of the teachers would have an adverse effect on the children. These characteristics of the teachers would instigate the same behaviour in the children as they grow. They would get stressed about situations if things are not going as they wish. They would lose patience and might take precarious decisions in haste. We wouldn't want a world where everything is viewed as unfavourable and hostile. When children observe the understanding and the empathetic nature of the teachers, they will turn out to be the same kind of persons when they grow up. They would view the world with positivity and hope instead of with despair and melancholy. Hence, the understanding and empathetic virtues of the teachers would have a positive effect on the society whereas the rigorous and demanding nature of the teachers would have a virulent effect.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot overlook the benefit of being conscientious against children sometimes. As children, we take everything for granted and the same could be the case with an empathetic teacher. On being empathetic, children may not pay attention to what the teacher is trying to teach or the children may not perform as good as the teacher expects. In such scenarios, it would be fruitful to be rigorous and demanding as it will teach the students to be diligent and work hard towards achieving their goals.

Therefore, I feel that an effective teacher is one who understands and shows empathy towards children as it fosters critical thinking among the children and moulds them to be good human beings as they grow. But at the time, I would qualify my opinion as the amicable nature of the teacher can sometimes be taken for granted and the children may not develop self-discipline required to excel in life.