Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Glancing back through the modern history, one can undoubtedly notice the involvement of political leaders in almost every facet of improvement or cast a debacle throughout the period. To adorn the world as it is now politician has to possess subtle principle and objectives which actually motivated the whole supporters to act as a whole in developing the today's skeleton of modern society. While some may argue that political leaders should be more strict to their views and principle, i will firm with my belief - To embellish the nation with hope and prosperity, political leaders need to give heed to the public opinion.

Stepping into the modern era, we have established a rigid base in the world separately in accordance to our cultural and ethnic dichotomies. This establishment is not done without the act of co operation. If we follow past our recent world and travel to the medieval time, we will see the continuous strife perpetuated for years that totally end up in long lasting collusion and schism between the society. One might wonder why this phenomenon is related to the dictatorship, in fact it is completely related to the relationship between the ruler and the follower. The long lasting feud in our ancestral period was basically caused for the oppressive act of the dictator who never cared for the followers and enacted a authoritarian government. Which is why whole country revolted, imposing a unmitigated situation for longer than one can imagine.

Public opinion is always regarded as an imperial consideration. Abandoning the public opinion can be detrimental as it fails to consider the choice of people and thereby fails to relate the ruler with the public.

History actually teaches this lesson more effectively. By gaining the trust of the people of Zimbabwe president Mugabe established himself as a leader but failed to gain the trust of subjects later, and this actually crippled the whole economic system of the country. Though it may looks like a act of sheer oppression, it is nothing but the negligence of the ruler to pay attention to the people. So it would be complete asinine for the people to think that just strict to the personal opinion can actually help a nation to prosper.

Finally, without the actual bond between the public and the leader the main infrastructure of the whole society will be crumbled. Even if the society seems to be prosperous with a ruler totally unconcerned of public involvement in his action, it is actually a result not for his act but only for the co operation within the group of his admirers and the public. It would appropriate to depict the sub continental revolution scenario against the English in which the whole throng of people was agreed to the decision of Mahatma Gandhi, the idol of liberation of India from the English captivity ople which was burdened to the people for almost 100 years. It was achieved only because the leader gave proper care to his people’s opinion.

However, only by considering the public opinion can make the country prosperous as it sometimes based on infatuation of culture and other incentives. So by understanding the situation act accordingly is the basic quality of a leader.

In conclusion, while there are arguments over principles against public opinion it is always the public opinion which thrives.