Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

I completely agree the second point of view that in order to be a successful political leader, the ability to remain consistent is very crucial.

Firstly, I believe that every leader should have his or her opinions and should be able to represent it to the world. A leader should have his own believes, principles and morals. By following this believes and principles not only makes him a great and trustworthy political leader but also makes him a kind human being. And this quality of commitment people tend to look in a leader. For example, in a relationship too commitment is the key factor, if the other person is not even confident about his own's believes then this person is going to think of him as a diffident or not confident person. Hence, I would like to again say that for a political leader to be successful staying committed to your particular principles and objectives is very important.

While, if some other person has a unique solution to a problem or to a situation then dogmatically forcing your opinion or believe is not an ideal resort. A great leader should also be able to listen other persons opinions, if that particular resort is beneficial to the whole team or organisation then keeping aside own's believes and happily listening other's choice would be a great option. For example, considering people's opinion about a certain upcoming project would be highly appreciated by people but not even considering people's opinion about something because of ego or objectives or aims would not at all be entertained by people.

A great leader is made by a lot of compromises, prescience and commitment to people and his own moral values and objectives. Thus, I would like to conclude that staying consistent in work and remaining loyal to moral values, principles and objectives is what makes a great leader.