Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Leadership is all about guiding the people to their common goals with their own concent. If a man is directing people toward his own ideals he might not be leading them but actualy dictating them. Moreover the success that shall be achieved by such a man may not be a victory for people following him thus it would be not flawed to say public opnion should be the key factor in detemining how the leaders should run the affairs.

Being a staunch supporter of democratic values I believe that people should be ruled the way they wish to be ruled because only such a system can result in the smooth runing of the country. In scenarios where the way of action determined by the leader becomes contrary to the common will of the people a friction between the rullers and the ruled is observed, which may give rise to upheavals and tumult in the society. To illustrate I’ll take the help of an example, if the people of an area are inclined more toward industrial development, and the leaders become keen towards making the country an agriculture driven economy, a clash will be obsserved in the society which will attenuate the chances for any of the two parties to succede as the industrial sector wont receive adequate attention of the government, and the agricultural sector wil experience lack of intrest from the common people. Moreover a feeling of “not being heard” and “having no role to play in the society” be felt by the masses which may result in disbelief in system and acrimony for the the government.

Another aspect worth considering is that the principales that go against the will of the people should not be the principales they should follow. Rules should be made more or lesss acording to the desire of the masses as they are the one’s who have to obey them. If some thing is exceptable to a certain society than it’s probhition is usually unjustified. For example we can consider the abortion laws which prohibited abortion in various countries due to their previous ethno religious beliefs which with the passage of time if not vanished have become of very less concern to common people, thus if the people have changed the rules should also be changed and accomodation of public opnion should be madeb.

Having said that it is also necessary to consider the fact that in certain scenarios leaders are aware of caircumstances that the common people are ignorant of in such scenarios leaders should consider the notion of going against the voice of the common people, but again the better way to deal with such situations would be to make the people aware of all ground realities and convince them for their support.

In a nutshell a leaders action should be more based on what the common people wish and not on what a few principales state as people have the right to be ruled the way they wish too.