Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

Whether it is worthwhile saving endangered species intrigues numerous people. While some contend that it is necessary to save every plant and animal species at the cost of money and time, others hold the opposite view. From my perspective, there is no need to devote so much money and time to those endangered plants and animals.

I have to admit that some endangered plants and animals are of great importance to human beings. For instance, pandas, as a symbol of China, are a kind of endangered animal. In Sichuan Province, government spend money building the gigantic parks for pandas to live in. The reason why we keep protecting pandas is that they are the representative of Chinese animals and contribute a lot to the communications between China and foreign countries. Accordingly, given the use and advantages of saving those pandas, no one can safely claims that this investment is unnecessary and futile.

However, does every plant or animal need special protection? In my opinion, the answer is not. First, in the forests, it is the regular rule that the stronger will beat the weaker. Endangered species may derive from their low ability of accustoming themselves to the climate change. When the temperature rises or falls down quickly, if a plant is hard to survive then it is useless for us to make efforts to save them. Wild plants and animals obtain the ability to adapt to the new environment. If we randomly interrupt this balance, the result can be extremely serious, even leading to more extinction. We are supposed to obey the environmental rules instead of change the fundamental rules for animals and plants. If a plant is about to extinct, we’d better firstly consider what triggers this result instead of arbitrarily building greenhouses for them.

On the other hand, even if we endeavor to save those endangered species, no one can guarantee the positive effects in future. What measurements we take now doesn’t necessarily suffice to generate future flourish of those species. A better environment like the greenhouse enables the plant to grow better, but it also deprives the plant of its interactions with other species. Without bees spreading the seeds, without natural rains, the development of this plant is uncertain. What’s worse, growing in the greenhouse may accelerate the speed of extinction due to more water and higher temperature. For the government, the decisions should be made for all the society other than animals and plants. If those efforts cause more people to lose jobs, then the government should reconsider the value of this measurement. After all, plants and animals are just part of environment and ignoring people’s life can inevitably result in unsatisfactory feelings of people.

To sum up, saving endangered species at the expense of large quantities of money and time is not worthwhile. While for some certain animals and plants, those investments are in great need, we are not supposed to devote limited resources to every plant and animal species.