Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above

Education of the "youth" is very vital for securing a nation's future. We must strive to provide a multi-dimensional education which could inculcate the skills and make him/her a better human being. The prompt presents a dilemma about teaching morality or logical reasoning, which should be the base of education. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the assertion and have a predilection for logical reasoning, along with certain reservation for morality, for these reasons.

First of all, it is imperative to be logically sound to survive in this ever increasing globalized world. One must not let emotions take our his/her conscience which could impair his ability to discern. It would enable one to reach correct decision based on merit, and not emotional quotient. For instance, a judiciary judge takes a decision based on logical reasoning and facts. It enables him to do justice in a disinterested manner. He/she cannot afford to use his morality which would endenger prejudice. Thus, logically reasoning must be the foundation of education.

Secondly, being logical makes one pragmatic. Without following a practical approach, one cannot discern the situation's veracity, leading him/her to a fallacious path. Research has consistently demonstrated that a person following a pragmatic approach, is more likely to succeed than others. For instance, a candidate having an average grade should not dream to get into Ivy league and rather strive to target the propitious universitites, which is aligned with his grades. Thus, we must enable the kids to be adept with logical reasoning through education.

However, we cannot ignore morality entirely. A person must have basic moral values to be genuous enough. I'm not affirming that morality should take a toll on logical reasoning, but it certainly helps to become a better human being. For instance, a leader who is well adept to lead well based on his logically driven decision making cannot surmount if he/she is not humane.

Of course, some might argue that morality preceeds logical reasoning and this is more necessary. However, it is not the case. I do agree that some professions needs one to think morally instead of logically, but again, it is limited to few fields such as healthcare and politics. In most cases, we need a proper mixture of both the values in our education to make children a better human being. Thus, we should opt for both morality and logical reasoning as the foundation of education.