"Sports stars & movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility." -

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing & supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Each and every person on the planet have certain goals and aspirations which are usually based on the role model they choose in their life. Most of the younger generations in today's contemporary world are inspired by the profession of sports or movies because those realms provide better reputation as well as wealth to one's life compared to other streams. Thus, in order to inspire many more newer people to follow those occupations, I agree with the notion that the people who are already in those fields must take the responsibility to behave as the role models.

To begin with, the role of a sports star or a movie star does not end up by just performing their job. As they have intense reputation in the society, they have the capability to bring out revolutions in the society. To illustrate, consider the movie star Salman Khan, who acts in Bollywood movies, came up with his own social organization "Being Human" which promotes in eradicating the poverty in the country. Many people who are fans of Salman have been contributing to such a good cause and in most parts of India, poverty was decreased to great extent. Hence, many people, especially the younger generation, are getting inspired by such actions and are contributing a lot to the society.

There are many sports stars too who come up with their own ideas for the betterment of the society. For instance, Cricket is one of the popular sport played in Australia. One of the sportsperson of Australia, Brett Lee, has innumerable records in the game. When retired in the year 2014, Lee came up with a new idea that he would open an academy to teach the children who are eager to learn the sport, for free of cost. Many children in and around the cities of Sydney and Melbourne are getting tips and tricks about the game and due to this initiation many are applauding Lee. Moreover, some social welfare organizations are coming up to buttress his idea by providing the financial support. Hence, it is the responsibility of a reputed person to embrace the community and come up with strategies which help the community.

In contrast, there might be certain instances when such eminent people need not involve in societal needs. It is because, one has to agree with the fact that all the prominent people have their own personal life and their personal freedom must be respected. According to a survey recently conducted in Belgium, around 79% of the eminent personalities feel that their personal freedom is being assailed. One cannot urge those people to come up with a kind of idea which is useful to the society. Some sports persons might not like to come and help the society and such notion must be respected.

In conclusion, in most of the cases one must agree that it the responsibility of the stars to behave as a role model to the younger generation. However, in certain cases when stars do not feel to serve the community, one must not force them to be as a role model to the youth.