Students are more responsible for their educations than are their teachers.

Education is the stepping stone to success for any individual. The duration of education is generally taken from pre-school days till one attains college, but in reality, a person never stops learning on their own or through others. Education in any field, be it academic or vocational, is important as it allows people to realize their potential. Many a times, we notice that teachers are held responsible for the performance of their students by the society. It is advised by parents that they put more effort into ensuring that students receive the best education. There is also another side to this argument which states that students are more responsible for their education rather than teachers, and they should make efforts accordingly.

I find myself equally favouring both sides of the arguments. When children are first sent to school, they have little to no knowledge about the basic elements of education such as the alphabets. They are also not aware of basic etiquettes and manners at such a young age. They do not have the knowledge to discern the good from the bad. That is when teachers play a crucial role. During the formative years of a child, only teachers are responsible for educating them. From reading to writing, teachers are the ones who need to take care of the students and monitor their performances. At young ages, children are usually obedient towards the teachers and carry out all tasks they are asked to. In developing countries like India, the education system in some rural areas is deplorable. There are primary level schools but no teacher is present to teach the young minds. Students wish to educate themselves but because of the lack of resources, are unable to. In such situations, especially during the schooling years of children, we can affirm that teachers are more responsible for the education of students.

However, as students gradually attend higher institutions of learning, the balance tips to the other side. A college level student is expected to be more responsible and focused. The job of professors is to merely guide students in the particular subjects of their choice. The students are well equipped with fundamental knowledge of their subjects of interest and it is their job to work upon their skills and consult teachers in times of need. Students have the liberty to attend or skip classes, and a person who wishes to perform better will opt for the former and will harbour results accordingly. For example, when I joined as a college undergraduate, I noticed a vast difference in the education system in schools and colleges. Teachers taught the basic concepts in the classrooms and students were expected to research further on topics being taught. Either a student studies out of interest or does not. Teachers are rarely held accountable for the performance of the students and rightly so. Students reach a maturity level in which they realize the importance of their education in a particular domain.

Therefore, we can conclude that responsibility of education shifts from teachers to students as time passes. College students are much more responsible for their education and their future. Ultimately, a better education benefits the students, so students should realize this and start working towards their future from an early age.