Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Dreams are what we are made of. For many of us, the reason that drives us to work is the fulfillment of our dreams. Some aspire to be academicians, others entertainers. Some wish to be global leaders, while others want to serve the world. Everyone has a different dream which defines them and shapes their actions. The society urges youngsters to follow their dreams and make it happen. However, there is a claim to lay more emphasis on picking worthy goals. As the dreams of many people are inherently selfish in nature and need to be changed.

I am not particlarly in favour of this argument. First of all, who decides which dreams are worthy and which are not? If according to the claim ,a dream is worthy only when it is selfless and is for the welfare of the society then self, then who will earn. If everyone wants to serve in the military to protect their borders, who will fund them. For many youngsters and rightly so, the dream is to follow their passion. People who dream to and own a business empire often engage in philanthropic activities and give back to the society. It is only possible when people acquire the money and resources to serve themselves and others.

People who aspire to be doctors , engineers or scientists although follow an inherent selfish dream , ultimately end up serving the people selflessly and contribute to the development of the society. Artists also cannot be termed selfish because they entertain people, make them happy and that in itself is a selfless job.

However, their are some goals which can never in any way be good to the society. If a young child wants to be a terrorist, as is the case in many terror concentrated areas where children are influneced by men in guns and aspire to be like them, such a dream should be nipped in the bud. Young people should be made to realise the difference between a good and a bad dream. Only such aspirations that are detrimental to the society should be curbed. Adolf Hitler too had a selfless dream to bring about better situations for his countrymen but the means he resorted to fulfill his dream make him the evil personality he turned out to be.

Therefore, people should be advised to follow their dreams and passions as long as these dreams are not harmful and the means used to realize these dreams are not detrimental to the society.