Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Education is a crucial element in every individuals' life. Formal education, which is education acquired from established institutions like schools and colleges have always been the norm. From a tender age of three, toddlers are admitted in playschools, marking its first step into the array of educational institutions. Certainly, school shapes the minds of children, focusing not only on academics but also encouraging them towards sports and imparting to them good manners and values. However, some might argue that all formal education does is restrain the minds and spirits of individuals rather than set them free. I do not agree with this claim.

Formal education institutes possess defined curricula for school level children. It includes such subjects which will be needed by a person in the future. It teaches basic algebra which is needed in all walks of life irrespective of one's profession. Not all children like math but if such restraint was not posed to them in schools, many might have a hard time keeping their bank accounts in the future. The schools help children learn things they particularly may not be a fan of but which will certainly be of use in life.

In the college level, one specialises on the subjects one is interested in. College life, rather than binding spirits, makes one more curious about one's field of study and provides one with the resources to satiate one's curiosity. It also provides a college degree which is credible evidence of one's skills.

Nevertheless, there are many exemplary people such as Bill Gates and Mark Zuckerberg, who have foregone formal education yet have succeeded. In ancient times also, scholars rarely had any formal education but had made groundbreaking revelations. But successful hire mostly certifies graduates. The system of formal education came into being so that everyone had the chance to make it big. Thus all such instances, in turn, strengthen the claim that formal education is indeed necessary as very few people succeed with shear self-learning. Although people are capable of learning on their own, guidance from professionals is required eventually.