Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

The productivity of a company is largely governed by its communication with its clients and the relationship the top management has with its employees. With the advent of instant electronic mails, the ease of communication has improved drastically allowing resources and information being transferred efficiently. However, there have been cases of employees using this mode of communication to send objectionable matter to clients and others which lands a heavy lawsuit to the company since such e-mails are sent from the company email address. Some employees also sell company secrets to rival companies via email which again, bring a heavy loss to the organization. In order to curb such unfortunate events, there has been a suggestion to conduct routine monitoring of e-mail correspondence of all employees by the company management.

Each employee sends out hundreds of e-mails every day. In a large organization, the e-mail traffic can easily amount to the order of thousands of e-mails sent everyday. It will not be practically feasible to monitor each and every email being sent and recieved by each employee. Such a policy would consume enormous amount of time of the management and compromise their productivity.

If their e-mails were to be intercepted, the employees would object to their breach of privacy. There might be employees who send emails to their personal contacts such as family and friends between the working hours. They would highly object to their personal e-mails being read by all of the management. Employees who are faithful to the company might be offended by this routine and this would lead to discontent between the top management and the employees.

It may also be the case that some officials may be biased towards a particular employee and may frame it wrongly. Employees are also assigned individual tasks where they need to correspond to the clients while sharing secrets that not all of the company management is aware of. If there is some discreet deal being made, checking all e-mails will be detrimental to the company.

The company can use the time and resources efficiently by installing software in the company computer network which can detect objectionable matter being sent. Such software uses certain keywords to detect the wrong kind of e-mail and then warns the management of a particular employee. Using an impartial judge to weed out the company rats will save the time of the company management and will also keep the employees contented.

Hence, the company management should not check all the correspondence emails of the employees and only focus on those employees who are suspected of being at a fault and use an electronic medium to do so.