According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

In order to curb the increasing trend in cheating in colleges and universities, Groveton college has adopted an honour code which believes the authenticity of students agreeing not to cheat and to notify teachers if there is suspect of another student doing so. It is reported that such an installation has greatly reduced the number of cases of cheating being reported each year as compared to the earlier system in which teachers monitored students. Majority of students in that college have claimed that they are less likely to cheat with the honor code in place. It has been recommended that this system is implemented in all other colleges, but before doing so, a few questions need to be answered.

Firstly, there no reason provided as to why the earlier system of teachers monitoring the students has been abolished. Such reasoning would help us understand why the system of honour code was installed in the first place. was it found that the teachers are falsely accusing students of cheating or were there any other cases of misconduct?

Secondly, the decrease in the of the number of cases of cheating being reported does not necessarily imply that cheating levels have dropped. It might be the case that the earlier system was more efficient in weeding out the cheaters than the current system.

Thirdly, there seems to be no provision to check the extent to which the honour code is being truthfully followed by all students. Every person tweaks the rules when they know the law lies with them. Many students in college place friendship over honour code so a particular student may rat out suspects who cheat but will not report cases involving his friends. They may also falsely accuse students who they bear an animosity towards. Moreover, it says that the majority of students, not all, say that they are less likely to cheat with the honour code in place. The minority might not be of the same opinion are may be more prone to cheating.

Finally, even if the students of Groveton are morally saintly, it does not mean that students of other universities will not take advantage of the honour code and will rather make cheating more rampant. Therefore, the above questions need to be addressed in order to make the implementation of the honour code system reasonable elsewhere.