The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Oceania University conducted a study which showed that faculty retention is higher when free tuition at the university is provided to college-aged children of the professors. Therefore, to enhance the morale of the professors and lure new professors at Seatown University, such a policy should be implemented. Before implementing this suggestion, certain evidence needs to be provided.

Firstly, it is reported that the policy stated has helped in professor retention not professor admission. So it cannot be assumed that adopting the policy will bring new professors at Seatown.

Secondly, no information has been provided about the quality of education in both the universities. It might be the case that Oceania is a better college compared to Seatown and therefore, the professors are pleased to let their children study there. If Seatown is a disreputed college, then such a policy will be of no help in retaining professors.

Thirdly, no evidence is given as to why the professors are not being retained in the first place. The conditions of work may not be suitable to the professors and the issues faced by them in Oceania are not similar to the ones at Seatown.

Hence, the provision of the evidence stated above will be help=ful in strengthening the argument.