As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is the claim that as we delve deeper into the well of knowledge in a particular direction, things, once seemingly comprehensible appear more mysterious and complex. As we unravel the underlying principles of a subject at hand, we discover the several layers it holds and the term 'ignorance is bliss' is taken more seriously. I agree with the above claim to a certain extent. it applies to few domains in life but not all.

First, taking the science of the human body in consideration. In earlier times, people had rudimentary knowledge about the functions and ailments of the human mind and body. As science has progressed, the knowledge being amassed is vast. Although the human mind has still baffled the scientists. there are still several basic questions to be answered as 'why do people cry?' which have no simple explanation. there are new diseases propping up by the minute, medical anomalies have filled the medical journals, the origin and growth of cancer cells are matters still researched upon. Therefore, as biological science has progressed , the knowledge of biology has transformed the once simple notion of the human body to a much complicated mass.

Similarly, in the early times, space exploration was an unthinkable phenomenon. scientists such as Galileo could not fathom the exploration of different plants in the solar system or the presence of other galaxies. Yet, as we have required much knowledge about the origin of the universe and have made successful space explorations, one might think that scientists have the answer to every phenomenon in the universe. but we are wrong. The knowledge of physics has led to the development of new species like antimatter which has led to the vision of the world to be more complex than it was thought to be.

However, in domains such as the art of cooking and sports, the more knowledge one acquires about it, the better it is at that particular field. A great cook who knows all the ingredients and recipes is bound to find culinary complexities as trivial. Similarly, a professional sportsman who knows all the tricks of the sports and has a thorough knowledge of the game will find it easier to excel in its game. Also, the study of palaeontology has unravelled the mysteries of the existence of dinosaurs which was once believed to be a myth and now is a well known fact. More study of the subject has led to a simpler understanding of the life and habits of the species.

Therefore, I would like to conclude by stating that the claim that more knowledge makes thing more incomprehensible is true in the case of certain fields of science. Howeevr, this claim cannot be extended to all domains of study.