Students should memorize the fact only after they have studied the idea, trends, and concepts that help explain these facts. Students who have learned only facts have learned only little.

It is essential to have the concepts, ideas, and trends in order to have the proper knowledge of the fact. I therefore completely agree that students who memorize the fact without having the proper knowledge about the concepts, ideas and trend have learned very little for the following reasons.

Most of the students are exam oriented and they often make rote memorization of the facts without having basic concepts and ideas behind the facts. But, such type of learning is not reliable and could frustrate the students during their examination if exact question is not asked. For instance, students often makes a rote memorization of chemical reactions between particular acid and metal that often appears in the examination without having proper knowledge of the basic concepts and ideas behind the reaction. If the chemical reaction is asked but with different metal or acid, or at different physical condition, then it is highly likely that students often becomes confuse and makes mistake; that is to say students have learned very little about the chemical reactions. For the proper knowledge of the chemical reactions, students should have the basic ideas and concepts of the atomic size and valencies of different elements, chemical reactivity of different elements and chemical compounds, and the role of physical conditions and the catalysts on the chemical reactions. If the students gain these basic concepts and the ideas regarding the chemical reaction, I believed that they will not encounter any problem while solving chemical reactions.

Similarly, while solving any numerical and mathematical problems, students often make rote memorization of particular formulas while preparing for their examination. However, such memorization of the formulas would not help them if they do not have the basic ideas about the terms associated with it. In this scenario, the question seems pretty solvable to them, while in fact, due to the absence of the basic ideas of the associated terms, they fail to solve it. For instance, students often makes the rote memorization of the formula of power in terms of work done and time taken (power=work done/time taken). However, if the power of the body is asked in terms of mass of the body, time taken, and distance travelled by the body, then it is highly likely that student would make mistakes as they will have no idea about the relationship between these factors with the power of the body (work= force*distance, force=mass* acceleration, acceleration= velocity/time and velocity= distance/time). Thus, it is essential to have the basic ideas and concepts to have the proper knowledge of the subject matter.

In conclusion, I agree with the assertion that students who memorize only the facts without having the proper knowledge of the basic ideas, concepts and trends will learn very little.