According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer concludes that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students. To support his conclusion, he has cited various evidences such as the student's reference and the statistics of the cases. Although these evidences appear to bolster the argument, a meticulous analysis will show otherwise. In order to make the argument more sound, the author needs to cite the following especific evidences.

First of all, the writer presents that in the first year in which honor code placed, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating, five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen, this contains apocryphal. If so, who were conducting the resesarch? If this is just based on the teacher's personal experienced then the argument made by the author go unwarranted. Without mentioning the authenticity of the research that had conducted, this might not be persuasive. One the other hand, even if it was reliable research, there are still fourteen cases, just sixteen cases has reduced, that is little bit more than half. It is possible that, there might be another efficient method to redude the number of cheating cases. If either of these cases are true, the writer's assertion of all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students somhow become unwarranted.

Second of all, the writer claims a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise, however he has not mentioned the statistics and source of the research organization. Perhaps, it might be just the author's speculation rather than derived from the research. Additionally, it is possible that even if the cheating among colleges and university is on the rise, there may be certain institutions, this case might not hold for all. If either case was true, then the author's recommendation becomes unpersuasive. If there were certain college and university in which the rare cases of cheating occurs, recomending the conclusion to all the college and universities might not be persuasive.

Third of all, it is potentially true that students may have not reported the cheating of their friends in order to be harrassed later. It is also probable that students have made a collision to cheat in partnership, and the cases come out only when there accurs discord among students. The author has not focusing in this possiblities, if either of this cases were true, the writer's recommedation becomes unwarranted.

In sum, the writer's recommendation that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students potentially true. However, without the specific evidences such as the reliability of research and data, students prospects. The writer couldn't convince me in his assertion.