The study of an academic discipline alters the way we perceive the world. After studying the discipline, we see the same world as before, but with different eyes.

The world has changed significantly since time and continues to change and develop. To say that studying a discipline would change the perspective we look at our environment from, is open to interpretation, but I would agree that Indeed to some extent, the new things learnt from enrollment in a particular professional course, would affect our view of the world; we would better understand the behavior, importance and a lot more about the sphere we live in. But considering an individual, mostly every other thing unrelated to the knowledge and experience acquired from a study program or even any other form of learning or life experience, would pretty much remain unaltered.

When we study in school, a lot of new things are learnt and are bound to impact our lives and perceptions of the elements that surround us. A child has to grow and in that process is going to learn a lot of things, though known to others (grown up’s, etc.), would be exciting and surprising to the child and inherently adapt his understanding of the concept learnt to his perception of the world. When growing up, we were taught Darwin’s theory of evolution in school, informing us that it is a scientific approach to believe that man evolved from apes and that life began from water. Or when learning about the expansive nature of the cosmos and that the like the earth there are nine other known planets, there are billions and billions of planetary bodies within the universe. This sort of knowledge would definitely change our thinking and view of the world.

The disciplines we specialize in enlightens us about so many things related to our life in the real world, and the deeper we go the more appreciative and aware we become of our surroundings and its constituents. In life generally, the experiences we gain and those that we are exposed to, if they last for a considerably long period of time would naturally cause us to adapt to them. Take a simple example when exposed to an odor for a certain duration, its intensity to our senses get diminished over time until it is subliminal. The same can be said about our discipline studied. Take for example the life of a doctor, who is bound to experience a lot of life threatening situations with patients including deaths and very unpleasant ailments. It would be infallible to say that the life of a doctor before his enrollment into medical college and after his completion would be very different.

In conclusion, it can be understood that a lot of the changes that occur within a person’s perception of the world generally come from growth and experiences in life, of which the discipline studied is just a small part of.