The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Any organization needs a leader who directs and controls its activity. When the organization reach the suffice mostly leaders are touted and the future is seemly considered dependent on the virtues of the person in charge. The prompt discusses that the acquition of a nation, the greatest organization, is determined by the increse in status of the people, not by the person leading it. I mostly agree with the prompt and provide two explanations regarding it. However, I concede a few cases where the qualitites of the important persons are also well observed.

First of all, the numbers of important people in a nation is always less than the number of common people. Based on the numbers, erudite people can always be considered minority while comparing with the common people. So, the actual representation can only be credilble, if it accomodates large people not a small group. For instance, Arab countries are still considered underdeveloped comparing to European countries even though their rulers are much welthy than the leaders of Europe. This is because the average life status of people in Europe is higher than that of people residing in Arab. It is a good case where the welfare of people is a surest indicator rather than the condition of the rulers.

Secondly, the achievements of these rulers, artist, scientist or other luminous people can be considered true only when they are lucrative to the common ones. For example, a discovery of scientist can be considered great, if it helps other people in making their life esaier or provide more knowledge in that field. A ruler can only be considered successful, if he is able to bring positive changes in people lifestyle. Thus, for being a prudent person one must contribute something better for ordinary people.

However, during conferences, international meetings people who represet a nation are the true face of the country. An articulate spokesperson, artist are the symbol of overall people of the country. Success of the person in those international contest gives the overall view off the people living in that area. For instance, an artist who draws about the culture of his locality when wins a global competition gives the detailed view of the counte as well as its people. Here, the representative of a nation is the indicator of the people.

Thus, in conclusion, when considering the success of a country the betterment of the people residing there is a pivotal factor. Sometimes these representatives must also be personally good inorder to provide a great view of the nation.