Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that global warming is an influential factor for decline of the Arctic deer in Canada’s arctic regions. He comes to this conclusion based on the report from local hunters. The author assertion might be true, but these three claims must be substantiated in order to determine the credibility of the argument.

Firstly, the author assumes that the report from the local hunters are immaculate. It is possible that their method of searching of deer is flawed. They may not have required instruments as well as the process of enumeration may not be scientific. The search of deer in the region may be surficial. Deer may have gone to relatively cold areas where they were not thought to be found. This search can not determine the accurate number of deer living in the region. If this is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Moreover, the author assumes that global warming is a major factor contributing the decline of the number of deer. It might be possible that the local law enforcement bodies might have reduced their interest in the artic regions that have increased hunting of the deer and due to less checking their transportation is easier. This increase in poaching can be a cause for decrease in the number of the deer. Also, increase of people settlement in the less cold areas and the areas where there is cold for certain period of the year have caused to endanger the habitat of deer and reduce it population. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion of the argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, the author assumes that the effect of global warming is high at present. Global warming may be inchoate, and have not played such huge role to melt the ice of artic regions. Also, if global warming has occurred the cold areas would be relatively hot and the grass that the deer feed on would grow expanding the areas of living of the deer. If this is the case, then the persuasiveness of the argument is hindered.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide evidence to these three explanations (perhaps from a systematic study approach), then the viability of the argument can fully be evaluated.