The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Can the achievements of a few be defined as an evidence of a great nation ?

While it is common for there to be a cosmetic outlook of a nation because of a few achievers, prosperity is most often defined by the lives of the common man.

Though the achievement of the rulers, artists, or scientists is by every means a measure of a great nation and it’s affluent, it is just a minute fraction of the total people and might not be a reliable representation.

In African countries, it is typical for the rulers, artist or scientist achievements to be showcased as a façade to the inner rot of the country and state of hardship for the common man. Their rulers loot the the common wealth to build and empower themselves while the commoners remain in abject poverty.

Most importantly, a nation that has not been able to deal with it’s rudimentary issues not limited to food, health care, shelter and access to other basic amenities and infrastructure for the welfare of it’s people is by no means great as the general representation of the country is often defined by the standard of living of it’s people.

Additionally, if the general welfare of a people is not prioritized then the achievement of a few might not stand for anything as it has been seen often times how nations collapse due to poor standard of living, the people degenerate to various social vices, decadent and there is terror if not properly managed as seen in countries in the middle-east, Africa, North America and Asia.

Ultimately, a nation that prioritizes the welfare of it’s people is often regarded as a great nation as there is harmony and support growth, prosperity and equity which is by far a better representation of great.